Chapter 0 – Prologue

TL Message:

I have decided to pick up a 3rd series for us!

I was just reading manga recently, and I found out about this series, and got quite invested in it, which led to me reading the web novel… and here we are!

I hope you do enjoy, and as it is a new series, 1 or 2 more chapters will go up with this today! ❤

This is but a game.

That was the first thing I was told when I transferred to this different world.

Well, I guess that’s all it could be.

If you were to be placed into a world where people could use magic, held special abilities and monsters roamed freely and you could wish status screens into existence, a game is all you could call it, I guess.

So I’m really just going to be thrown into such a place, be told it’s a game, and then have to just deal with it?

Don’t screw with me.

Who was it? Who exactly decided to throw me in this kind of place?

God? A Devil? No, its definitely a devil of some kind.

Unpaved roads, forests that smell of soil and are inhabited by beasts, and the sounds of rapidly flowing rivers.

Even if this was only Japan, to be thrown into such a place with no warning, it would still be quite dangerous.

At this current time, where I didn’t even know left from right, I was wondering exactly what I should do first. On me currently, I had my house key, wallet and smartphone. All things that are *super* useful in another world.

After being at a loss and sitting down at the roadside, wondering what my next move should be, a voice resounded inside my head.

“This is a game”

It was the same voice that I had heard when I got transferred.

Again, this game’s rules started to flow into my head.

“If you take down the Demon King, you clear this game”

Now that was a rule I had heard for the first time.

“Any wish will be granted to the one who takes down the Demon King”

“If you want to return to your original world, you are able to return.”

“If you want to stay in this world, and become its one and only ruler, that is also possible.”

It seems that the bastard that threw me into this world is now trying to bait us into playing his little game with promises of glory and riches, anything a man could desire.

‘If you want to go back to your original world, you must struggle and work hard’, something like that.

“However, the number of Demon Kings is not infinite.”

After hearing this, I started to pay proper attention and think seriously.

“The number of Demon Kings in this world is less than the total number of humans that were transferred here.”

Ah, I finally understood what was happening here.

It’s that kind of game, huh.

This old RPG-like world is essentially God’s miniature garden.

The world itself is not important.

The game that keeps being referenced, is our lives itself.

A game of competing over a limited number of pie’s.

To defeat the Demon Kings faster than anyone—

—Will you reduce the number of people who are able to do so?

Well, I guess this means that there are other people who were transferred into this world also.

And now I’m being forced to compete in a game of ‘who can kill the Demon King’s faster’ against them, a game that is being observed and laughed at by either a god or devil who is up above us. What a terrible joke this all is.

Its not even proven that you would actually get a wish granted if you were to clear this game.

Well, I guess to start with—

This is a different world, and all the transferred players other than I are enemies.

I’m going to die in this game? Don’t joke with me.

I will definitely survive and return to my original world. (TL Note: Arifureta Vibes…)

… Well, its not like I have an actual reason to return though.

However, I absolutely refuse to die in such an unreasonable game.

Therefore, I will win.

Even if I am forced to betray others and kick them into the depths of hell.

—As I was thinking along the lines of this, I heard a voice call out to me.

“Hey there! You okay?”

A figure was running towards me from a distance.

T-shirt, jeans and sneakers.

“Are you hurt? Do you have enough water? Are you hungry? Oh, right! There seems to be quite a powerful monster roaming around here, so we should run away quickly!”

This person, who should be the enemy, rushed towards me to offer support.

He seems to be a male, around the same age as me.

From his face, I can tell he really was worried about me from the bottom of his heart.

While I have seen a lot of guys throughout my time of being alive, I can truly tell this guy cares about me.

What is he, stupid?

Why are you worrying about your enemies?

When I asked him about this later, he replied

“I knew that we were rivals, but you just had such a troubled face.”

The guys that I’ve been around so far have only ever been bad guys, stupid guys, or bad, stupid guys.

But this one was different.

He knew that it was risky to approach me, but he still did so.

This was the first time I had met such a person.

So, I decided to stick around the guy.

I was determined to return him – Kenji Kinoshita to his original world.

Its just on a whim.

Since it happens to be a game, can’t I just choose my playstyle freely?

If it’s a risk that only I’ll carry, I’ll gladly accept.

LuciferScans does not claim that this work is ours, and do encourage you to support the original author by buying their light novel that is being published currently.

Support me on Ko-fi ❤
Support me on Patreon ❤

‎ ‎‎‎‎‎‎‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎

‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎

‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎

‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎

‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎‏‏‎ ‎

While supporting us through these methods is not required, it is 100% appriciated.
Any Ko-fi donation will give an extra chapter for all,
while subscribing through Patreon gives early access.


Next Chapter

2 thoughts on “Chapter 0 – Prologue

  1. I remember reading a bit of the manga and thinking the MC is really gay for the Hero and going after the competition for that reason. Was a bit sad when I realized that wasn’t the case, because it would have made a lot more sense than what happened in the manga, where it doesn’t feel justified enough.

    I’m guessing the novel will have more details on the MC’s mindset and justifications for the behaviour and it’ll be easier to understand why he choses to sleep with the competition instead of anything else, such as discrediting them in the MC’s eyes, setting them up with someone else or killing them.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started